Movie Week

by erika

Uncharacteristically watched two movies on the big screen in a span of five days. Thanks to free tickets!

* * *

In “Snow White and the Huntsman,” I was distracted by Kristen Stewart’s face throughout the film. I don’t know whether I was just influenced by memes about her or she was really not displaying proper emotions. Raffey Cassidy as the young Snow White was way better.

While in line for the ticket, I overheard a woman telling a girl (I suppose they’re mother and daughter) that “Snow White” is “may pagka-horror.” I hadn’t thought of it that way, but I guess it was good to set the child’s expectation.

The movie is really dark compared with the fairy tale. I liked the treatment, though. Save for some deus ex machina. What, the nail was there all along? And when Snow White sprinted out of the castle after years of imprisonment, I thought, “Wow, how did she get so fit?”

Charlize Theron as the Evil Queen was amazing. I barely noticed Chris Hemsworth. Theron owned this film. I loved her in “Young Adult,” too.

I’m not the fairest of them all?? credit

* * *

We didn’t have background information on “Rock of Ages” but we would watch anything that involves rock’n’roll.

The movie turned out to be a musical with a strong 80s feel. Aspiring singers Drew (Diego Boneta) and Sherrie (Julianne Hough) fell in love with each other when they met in Los Angeles in 1987, at a time when the mayor’s wife, Patricia (Catherine Zeta-Jones), is leading the crusade to destroy rock’n’roll. (What? That wasn’t funny?) Apparently, Patricia just wants to get back at rock star Stacee Jaxx (Tom Cruise).

Watch it if you’d love to see Catherine Zeta-Jones in a fierce song and dance. Inside a church. With a half-naked picture of Tom Cruise at the altar.

There are some racy scenes and oh, there’s man-to-man kissing.

I find it weird that “Don’t Stop Believin'” is the finale performance. It’s pop, isn’t it?

“I’m a stripper.”
“I’m in a boy band.”
“OK, you win.”

The rest of the songs are cool. We even sang along at some point; you wouldn’t be able to help it. The movie’s funny, most of the time cheesy. Just watch it for fun.

